A beginner’s attempt at bread baking…

January 8, 2011 at 8:29 pm Leave a comment

I’ve never baked bread before. Well, real bread anyway. You know, the kind you have to use yeast for, and let rise, and all that fun stuff. I’ve been intimidated by something that required so much…WORK.

One of my new year’s resolutions is to try and add some new things to my (not-so) culinary arsenal. When I got my Food Network magazine this week (via my Nook Color – that will be another posting in itself soon), Ellie Kreiger had a whole wheat cinnamon bread recipe that sounded interesting. But can I do all that work? Work with yeast? And all that rising? Hmm.

I have to say, I didn’t do half bad. I did learn the best place to allow bread dough to rise is our downstairs powder room. Since that room is tiny, it’s always about 5-10 degrees warmer than the kitchen.

I used more cinnamon, raisins, and brown sugar than the recipe called for….but YUM. Just for fun, I made up some vanilla icing (simple mix of powdered sugar, vanilla, and milk) to put on top.


Even though it was a long process, I will definitely baking more bread in my future! Any suggestions for recipes?

Entry filed under: Baking. Tags: , .

Happy New Year! Welcome home baby!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

2010

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blogs/Sites I like!


