Square Foot Gardening

June 27, 2010 at 12:01 am Leave a comment

This year I wanted to make a real attempt at having a garden. I’ve grown a few plants in the past, but nothing crazy, just some tomatoes in pots, and some squash in my flower bed. Over the winter and spring I researched Square Foot Gardening. The concept is quite simple, you build (or buy) a raised bed, split into square foot squares, and plant some veggies or fruits!

Hubs built my bed for me out of some 2×8’s. It took him all of 10 minutes. He lined it with some weed fabric, filled it with potting soil, and I planted my little baby plants. The night I bought them, we had an awful hail storm, and I thought the babies were goners. I only managed to lose the pumpkin plant though, which I ended up finally replacing last week.

Here’s my little square foot garden in all it’s glory…isn’t it so cute?

Here’s everything I have planted: Cherry tomato, regular Big Boy tomato, burpless cucumber, pickling cucumber, jalapeno, red bell pepper, yellow bell pepper, green bell pepper, yellow summer squash, green zucchini, cantaloupe, & pumpkin.

Great resources for info on Square Foot Gardening:
http://www.squarefootgardening.com
http://www.mysquarefootgarden.net
http://timssquarefootgarden.com

Amazon also has books all about it. I recommend this one:
http://www.amazon.com/All-New-Square-Foot-Gardening/dp/1591862027

I’ll post some updates once I actually get a harvest (that is, IF I get a harvest)!!

Entry filed under: Gardening. Tags: , .

New Core Colors – Daffodil Delight & Early Espresso Some fun technological issues…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

2010

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blogs/Sites I like!


