Archive for June 27, 2010

Square Foot Gardening

This year I wanted to make a real attempt at having a garden. I’ve grown a few plants in the past, but nothing crazy, just some tomatoes in pots, and some squash in my flower bed. Over the winter and spring I researched Square Foot Gardening. The concept is quite simple, you build (or buy) a raised bed, split into square foot squares, and plant some veggies or fruits!

Hubs built my bed for me out of some 2×8’s. It took him all of 10 minutes. He lined it with some weed fabric, filled it with potting soil, and I planted my little baby plants. The night I bought them, we had an awful hail storm, and I thought the babies were goners. I only managed to lose the pumpkin plant though, which I ended up finally replacing last week.

Here’s my little square foot garden in all it’s glory…isn’t it so cute?

Here’s everything I have planted: Cherry tomato, regular Big Boy tomato, burpless cucumber, pickling cucumber, jalapeno, red bell pepper, yellow bell pepper, green bell pepper, yellow summer squash, green zucchini, cantaloupe, & pumpkin.

Great resources for info on Square Foot Gardening:

Homepage

Welcome!


http://timssquarefootgarden.com

Amazon also has books all about it. I recommend this one:

I’ll post some updates once I actually get a harvest (that is, IF I get a harvest)!!

June 27, 2010 at 12:01 am Leave a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other subscribers

2010

June 2010
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blogs/Sites I like!