Technique Tuesday – Masked Mat

September 15, 2009 at 5:00 pm 3 comments

For today’s installment of Technique Tuesday, we’ll do a Masked Mat. Yet another simple and easy way to enhance your card layouts!

To make the mask, I cut a piece of Kraft cardstock down to the same size as my card front – in this case, 4.25×5.5. I then carefully used a craft knife and ruler to cut the opening. You can also use a die to cut the opening as well!

DSC_3947

Next, line up the mask on your card front. You can use Dotto or some other temporary adhesive to hold it in place, but I’ll be honest with you and tell you I’m too lazy for that. If you’re careful, you can just hold it place with your other hand. I then used sponges and to sponge the rectangle onto the face of my card.

I liked it more just around the edges of the rectangle, but feel free to go whole hog and sponge the entire area! I used two different colors of ink for a mottled effect. Don’t throw away your mat – it can be reused over and over again. We’ll be revisiting another technique using the mat later.

Annnnnd, as promised from the other day, here’s my Pink Glittery Skeleton! See, he’s not scary at all! I guess it could be a she now!

DSC_3946
All Supplies Stampin’ Up unless otherwise noted:
Stamps – Scary Skeleton, Teeny Tiny Wishes
Colors -Rich Razzleberry, Pretty in Pink, Melon Mambo
Paper – Naturals White cardstock
Accessories – Sponges, Dazzling Diamonds glitter, Stampin’ Dimensionals, Medium Oval Punch, Scalloped Oval Punch

Entry filed under: Stamping, Uncategorized. Tags: .

MDS Monday New Blog Header!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. punchaddict  |  September 17, 2009 at 11:21 am

    She’s boo-tiful and thanks for sharing the tech!

    Reply
  • 2. Kathy  |  September 17, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    Love this technique, creates a wonderful background. Your Halloween card is so much fun!

    Reply
  • 3. Technique Tuesday – Embossed Rectangle « Supercraftygirl!  |  December 11, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    […] To make this card, I dry embossed the rectangle. How did I do that? Who needs fancy dies? I used the mat from a previous Technique Tuesday installment here —> Masked Mat […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

2010

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blogs/Sites I like!


