Basket Fest!

August 29, 2009 at 6:59 pm 2 comments

Today was the 5th Annual Longabeger Basket Festival at Boyd’s Bear Country in Gettysburg, PA. I’ve gone every year, and for the past four, I’ve made my own basket there! If you’ve never made your own basket with Longaberger before, you have to try it! It’s a great experience, and it allows you to truly appreciate the craft and skill behind every basket.

I was paired up with Rob, a Basketmaker of 18 years. He was really patient, and funny too! Whenever I work with a Basketmaker I always ask two things – how long have they been making baskets, and what is their favorite basket to make. Rob’s fave are the larger baskets. He made a bunch of the Tour With Me baskets (see second pic below), but the one I received was made by another basketmaker. That would have been cool if I got one he made!

This was the first make a basket that had colored upsplints. The Merlot and Olive upsplints are perfect for fall! The form is the Canning basket form.

I still have to wait for my basket to completely dry before I put the liner and other accessories on….but here it is in all it’s glory! Looks closely to see the bear tack covers.

DSC_3810
Even my English Bulldog Ellie Mae loves Longaberger! This is the Tour with Me basket – the only way to get one of these is to bring a Tour to a Longaberger event, like Boyd’s, or to the Homestead in Ohio. This is the third Tour With Me basket that I’ve earned.
DSC_3829

To purchase Longaberger – click here to visit my site!

Entry filed under: Longaberger. Tags: , .

Technique Tuesday – Poppin’ Pastels New Holiday Mini Available! (and info on My Digital Studio!!!)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shanna  |  August 30, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Your baskets are beautiful! I imagine they were a lot of work, but it sounds like it was fun!

    Cheers,
    Shanna

    Reply
  • 2. TrishG  |  September 14, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    I like your dog. I love dogs.
    The basket is really nice. I hope you don’t have to carry the dog around in it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

2010

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blogs/Sites I like!


