Technique Tuesday – Chalkboard

August 18, 2009 at 8:21 pm 11 comments

It’s Tuesday, and while waiting for my all-time favorite show to come on (Big Brother!! – I’m a reality tv junkie), I whipped this up.

Since I got the Stampin’ Pastels a few weeks ago, I’ve had this technique on my list to try out. It’s called “Chalkboard” and is really easy to do! My goal is to feature a different Technique each Tuesday. We’ll see how well I do with that 🙂

To start, ink your image with a light colored Craft ink, and stamp on a darker colored cardstock.While the ink is still wet (don’t be in a hurry, craft ink takes a while to dry!), sponge on your pastels over top of the ink. Wait for it to dry, and Voila! For this particular stamp set, I then stamped the line image part right over top of the pasteled flower.

I find that solid images work better, but go ahead and try line art if you like the effect!

DSC_3794
All Supplies Stampin’ Up unless otherwise noted:
Stamps – Greenhouse Garden, Teeny Tiny Wishes
Colors -Bermuda Bay, Chocolate Chip, Whisper White
Paper – Thoroughly Modern Designer Series Paper, Naturals White cardstock, Chocolate Chip cardstock
Accessories – Polka dot Grosgrain Ribbon, Stamp-a-majig, Very Vanilla Hodgepodge Hardware, Stampin’ Pastels

Entry filed under: Stamping. Tags: .

What’s for dinner? Blankie for Rylee

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gina  |  August 18, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    Wow, that is really pretty. I have never tried that technique. Your colors are beautiful.

    Reply
  • 2. mandy schneider  |  August 19, 2009 at 12:35 am

    O wow!!! I love everything about this card!! it’s so pretty!! great job..TFS!
    Mandy

    Reply
  • 3. monica  |  August 19, 2009 at 1:01 am

    It came out beautiful. Thanks for the tutorial, I wanna try it!

    Reply
  • 4. Shanna  |  August 19, 2009 at 4:47 am

    Great color combo, love the card!

    Shanna

    Reply
  • 5. Susan (peebsmama)  |  August 19, 2009 at 6:00 am

    This gives a very nice effect to your flowers. And such a pretty color combo too.

    Reply
  • 6. Jackie  |  August 19, 2009 at 9:00 am

    Wow! Your card came out great and I love the layout. tfs!!!

    Reply
  • 7. LaLatty  |  August 19, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Your card is so very pretty. I’ll have to dust off my chalks and give this a try!

    Reply
  • 8. Danielle  |  August 19, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    Great card, love the colour combo!

    Reply
  • 9. Paige  |  August 19, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    Your card is beautiful! What an awesome technique! Will have to try it out. Hmmm, now where are my pastels?

    Reply
  • 10. mishaloots  |  August 19, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    beautful!!

    ill look forward to your tuesday techniques..

    TFS!
    michelle

    Reply
  • 11. Ramona West  |  August 22, 2009 at 8:52 am

    WoWza! I love this card. The colors are perfect. The design is perfect. YOU ROCK!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

2010

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blogs/Sites I like!


