Sometimes, simple is better…

June 26, 2009 at 9:57 pm 5 comments

I can’t say enough about how much I love clean and simple cards. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I love making detailed, complicated cards (like the last one I posted!), but sometimes, simple is better!

I achieved the mottled effect on the flower image by first stamping the flower head itself in Melon Mambo ink, then taking my Rich Razzleberry In Color Marker (helllloooo! In color markers!!!) and “thumping” it over top. I finished the flower off by inking the stem of the flower with the Old Olive Marker.

I started to use ribbon on this card, but I just wasn’t feeling the way it was looking. So I took out the new Razzleberry Lemonade Designer Series paper, and from the one striped sheet, I cut out the pink and white flowery stripe and applied it. I really like the effect is has as “faux ribbon”!

DSC_3218

All Supplies Stampin’ Up unless otherwise noted:
Stamps – Kind and Caring Thoughts, Teeny Tiny Wishes
Colors – Melon Mambo, Rich Razzleberry, Whisper White
Paper – Razzleberry Lemonade Designer Series paper

Accessories – Paper Piecing tool, Scalloped Oval punch, Small Oval punch, Stampin’ Dimensionals, Markers

Entry filed under: Stamping. Tags: .

How does your garden grow? Who says you have to stamp?

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. maria  |  June 26, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    Wow! I love this card! That flower is gorgeous and I like the idea of using the stripe from a striped paper 🙂
    Maria

    Reply
  • 2. Jackie  |  June 27, 2009 at 2:19 am

    This is one beautiful card! I really love it…fab job & tfs!!!

    Reply
  • 3. M.E. Driggs  |  June 27, 2009 at 4:38 am

    beautiful card.

    M.E. aka CMCMaryD@SCS

    Reply
  • 4. Shanna  |  June 27, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    Another great simple but beautiful card!

    Shanna

    Reply
  • 5. Kathi Crouse  |  June 28, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Fabulous card! I am loving Melon Mambo and love how you used the Razzleberry marker to add more color to the flower!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

2010

June 2009
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blogs/Sites I like!


