Hello there, Cupcake!

June 19, 2009 at 8:00 am 4 comments

Introducing…the first crochet project I’m showcasing on my blog!

My sister is an amazing crocheter. When I was younger, I was absolutely amazed by the stuff she made – everything from a simple picot trim on a kitchen towel to a gorgeous tablecloth. She attempted to teach me once – we didn’t get too far. I was convinced I could never learn the intricacies of weaving yarn into knots with a hook.

Fast forward to now (oh, about 20 years later!), and I love crocheting! It’s very relaxing to to work with the yarn and the hook – almost hypnotic. About 2 years ago, I taught myself from a book I picked up with a 50% off coupon from AC Moore on a whim (ya know I couldn’t let the coupon go to waste now!). My very first project was a scarf made from granny squares.

Enough about all that – onto the Cupcake! 

DSC_3178 mr cupcake

I made this little guy from a pattern in Ana Paula Rimoli’s book – Amigurumi World: Seriously Cute Crochet – ISBN-10: 1564778479

Mr. Cupcake was super easy to make following the pattern in the book. The instructions were clearly written, so that even I – a complete novice at crocheting – could succeed!

The pink  frosting yarn is Vanna’s Choice and the tan yarn is Red Heart Designer Sport.

I haven’t decided quite yet what to do with Mr. Cupcake yet. My friend Liz owns a baking business – Cookies to Cocktails – http://www.cookiestococktails.com/ – so I’m thinking Mr. Cupcake might like to go to live with her. 🙂

Entry filed under: Crochet. Tags: .

More Photos Today… Why I love Rub Ons…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Naoual  |  June 19, 2009 at 9:38 am

    Aww this is too cute!! So adorable you did such a great job!

    Have a wonderful weekend,

    xx Naoual

    Reply
  • 2. Rebekka  |  June 20, 2009 at 1:23 am

    This is to cute, great job.

    Reply
  • 3. michelle  |  June 20, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    adorable! TFS!

    Reply
  • 4. Betty  |  July 15, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    Mr. Cupcake is so cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

2010

June 2009
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blogs/Sites I like!


